The Voice of the Night by Dean R. Koontz

The Voice of the Night by Dean R. Koontz

 

Part I

Reflection;

“A good friend should be willing to keep your company even when you’re doing things that you enjoy but maybe he doesn’t care so much about. I mean, I can’t expect to always do exactly what I like and I can’t expect that you and I will always want to do the same things.”-Roy

First and for most, having true friends is not easily to find and a treasure we must achieve and admired. Just how Colin admired Roy and how Roy loved Colin. Their friendship is like you’ve been riding a roller coaster, that have many up’s and downs and turn around. Dealing with other person you so-called friends you need to invest even if you can’t gain returns in them. Friendship is like “gambling” you’ll going to take some risk even if you’re not so sure of winning either losing. Collin sacrifices many things: himself, his hobbies and his ignorance, he sacrifices those entire things for the sake of their newly built friendship. Furthermore, Colin valued their friendship.  On the other hand, Roy also sacrifices a lot of things and takes responsibility and became the mentor of Colin. Roy molds Colin by helping him to get out from his comfort zone.

Connect:

When I was young until now, I’d also experience the same situation like Roy but I’m the other way around. But sometimes I also do have the attitude of Colin that I’m battling to expand my territory. In my circle of friend we called “BATANG BLISS” and “TAZO BOYS”; I’m the Roy Borden, the persuasive, optimistic, and comforter. I’m the one who lift them up when they struggling in their personal issues, love life and etc. I’m the one who’s there acted as their older brother and giving gently advices, lessons and motivate them to fight, endure and handle every circumstances they faced. However even I don’t like what they are doing, I’m always by their side stand firm and never let them down.

Question;

What if Colin didn’t meet Roy and Roy to Colin. What would be their situation for Colin, his still be the person who is afraid of facing circumstances in life and leave as a coward and dependent to others. And for Roy case what would be his situation if he didn’t meet Colin, his still be the boy who’s arrogant, naughty, disrespectful and full of himself.

Predict;

I think that if Roy and Colin the same characteristics towards perception in life could they make a strong bond friendship. Yes, could it be. This story speaks the reality that everybody has the right to earn friendship, no matter what your attitudes may be. A friend will always be a friend no matter want.

 

 

Part II

Write a letter to the author

To Mr. Dean R. Koontz

This letter is showing of my appreciation to the novel that you written entitled “THE VOICE OF THE NIGHT”. My mind is up lift towards the true essence of friendship and to value as considered as part of a family. Thank you for the contribution you’ve given in my life and thanks for the inspiring message a lot of people through your writings. I have learn a lot and also motivated to increase my confidence how to deal and handle different attitude towards my friends.

 

Your Reader

Efren M. Garcia Jr.

 

Character Report

No one could understand why Colin and Roy were best friends. Colin was shy; Roy was popular, Colin was nervous around girls; Roy was a ladies’ man. Colin was fascinated by Roy –and Roy was a fascinated by death. Then one day Roy asked his timid friend. “You ever killed anything?” And from that moment on, the two were bound together in a game too terrifying to imagine and too irresistible to stop. Colin was a dependable person to his friend Roy.

*Colin 14 years of age

*Roy 14 years of age

 

 

Leave a Reply

