Into the Outside

Reading Log in English 75 (Nature of Reading)

Cornelia Funke’s “Inkheart”

 

“Books have to be heavy because a whole world’s inside them.”
-Cornelia Funke, Inkheart

I have always been a fan of writers and directors who are bold enough to create a world of their own. A world not bound by the standards and limitations of the known one. Much more do I salute these people who do it skillfully and flawlessly!

Meggie lives a quiet life alone with her father, a bookbinder. 
But her father has a deep secret -- he possesses an extraordinary magical
power. One cruel night, as Meggie's father reads a book called Inkheart 
aloud, an evil ruler named Capricorn escapes the boundaries of fiction 
and lands in their living room. Suddenly, the two are plunged into the 
kind of adventure Meggie has only encountered in fiction, and they 
must somehow learn to harness the magic they were reading about to 
change the course of the story -- before it ruins their lives forever.

This is a summary I found in bookbrowse.com! For those of you who might not be familiar with this book, you can also go and watch the movie.

Going back, I believe that Cornelia was able to set a standard in the genre of fantastical novels.

This novel is one of those very few that can qualify as an all-time favorite. What if the characters we read in books were real? Cornelia also opens each chapter with an enigmatic quote. Also, her characterization made each character seem different, vivid, and very real. The plot was gripping and every twist and turn is completely unexpected. The climax was absolute perfection.

I can totally connect with Meggie’s dilemma in some parts of the story. She had so many questions about her parents and even about herself.

There came a time in my life when I questioned my parent’s love for me. I doubted my identity and this doubt made me a very disagreeable person. I would even lash my frustrations out at other people. But just like Meggie, I realized that it was only up to me to realize that I’m not a disappointment and a failure. I stood up and convinced myself that I am much more than what other people think I am.

 

Meggie’s TedTalk

Dear readers, author, and co-characters! We gather here today to commemorate the lives of everyone we value. Whether we have lost some, or gained some is not important. What we must think about is gratitude. Gratitude to the Almighty God for giving us the power to survive the dilemmas we faced. This day is solely for that!

I guess there can never be an author as good as God Himself.

He had written, is still writing, and will continue to write the story of humanity. But unlike most who tries to dictate the deeds of his characters, He let’s us drive our fate. He may be “all-seeing”, omnipotent and all-powerful, but he does not assume control over us. And for that, we must thank Him.

To everyone who had witnessed the ability that me, my father, and Darius has. Do you think this power is a curse which brought about all the misfortunes in our lives? I believe otherwise. I know that He gave us this ability to serve a greater purpose. Greater than ourselves and greater than our mistakes. And for that, I thank Him.

This day is all I ask from all of you! Let us not forget to give thanks!

 

A Message for the Fans!

Meggie: Hi avid readers! Thank you so much for reading the book and staying with me all throughout the story. Sorry for my mishaps though! See you soon.

Mo: Hello there. I must say that having so many people witness my clumsiness is a bit embarrassing but still, thank you so much for sticking with us. Till next time!

Dustfinger: Do not tell anyone about the secrets that I have or I will burn you! Thanks by the way.

Elinor: So, you’re a reader of the story. What do you think of me? I know, I know, I’m amazing!

Farid: Bye!

Teresa: (Sign language) Thank you! I love you!

Capricorn: Help meeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

