Feel, Learn, Read

Reading Log in English 75 (Nature of Reading)

Khaled Hosseini’s “The Kite Runner”

 

“When you kill a man, you steal a life. You steal his wife’s right to a husband, rob his children of a father. When you tell a lie, you steal someone’s right to the truth. When you cheat, you steal the right to fairness.”
― Khaled Hosseini, The Kite Runner

Have you ever read a book that made you want to punch it (the book) down to a pulp?

I did! Right after reading Khaled’s masterpiece. Of course it wasn’t out of disappointment or the likes. It made me feel that way because of how the book left this void in my hypothalamus which can’t be filled with any happy thoughts (I am not exaggerating).

I was touched. It’s as simple and as complicated as that.

Amir’s actions in the beginning of the story elicited unfathomable anger from me. Hassan was like an angel with a fork that picks at my heart every-time he does selfless things. Assef and his friends, well don’t ask me how I feel about them (you won’t like it).

The story made me reminisce the days of my youth. It made me reflect on my actions and selfish behavior.  I guess I can somehow relate with Amir’s guilt for the unfortunate fate of Hassan. I’ve been in a similar situation before.

Way back in my pre-pubescent years, I met a friend during summertime. A young boy, Jap-Jap was his name. He’s the cousin of our neighbor and they were supposed to spend summer there. We would have a really good time everytime we played. I can say that those days will always be some of the most unforgettable moments in my life. But things changed after an incident one day.

We were playing around the community playground with some of our other friends. Everything was good but that was till a few kids from the other village came and acted like the playground was theirs. They were a tad bigger than most of us so we basically can’t do anything, except Jap-Jap. He walked up to the “leader” of those kids and told them that they should share the playground with us. The following events happened too fast and I didn’t have  enough time to act. The next thing we know, our parents were already there and Jap-Jap had a bruise in the left cheek (if I’m not mistaken).

To say that I felt guilty wasn’t enough. I was mad at myself for not protecting Jap-Jap. He wasn’t from our neighborhood so I should not have let him do something like that!

The next day after that incident, Jap-Jap was taken by his parents. Without any goodbyes.

I really want to know your idea about a few things from the story:

  • Is the novel more of a Bildungsroman (coming of age) novel than a social and historical one?
  • Did Amir show any sign of being able to forgive himself and his Baba?
  • How could Wali and Kamal look up to someone like Assef as a “God”?!
  • How do you see Sohrab and Amir in the future?

 

A Chit-Chat with Khaled

Me: Hey Khal!

Khaled: Hello Ambia.

Me: I have a few questions ’bout your book bruh.

Khaled: Go ahead!

Me: Was it really necessary to give Amir and Hassan wives?

Khaled: Well, not really. But I wanted to give my characters a “life”. I want them to be as developed as possible.

Me: Oh, well that’s nice. How about Sohrab, based from the ending I think he’ll be just fine. What do you think?

Khaled: Right. The ending basically signifies that Sohrab will soon open up to Amir and his new-found family.

Me: Wow!

Khaled: Any other questions?

Me: That’s all for now. Wanna play “Run The Kite”?

Khaled: Sure.

 

Amir and Hassan’s Little Talk

Amir: It’s been a long time…

Hassan: Yes my friend.

Amir: How can you call me a friend? After all I’ve done?

Hassan: I never hated you.

Amir: Well you should have! I was a selfish and good for nothing brat.

Hassan: You were young and scared. That’s all.

Amir: Yes, I was scared so I ruined your life. And for that, I will always be sorry.

Hassan: You know, I don’t have to forgive you.

Amir: I’m so sorry Hassan.

Hassan: You’re right Amir. You are not my friend.

Amir: …

Hassan: You’re my brother.

Leave a Reply

